Tags

Perhaps not to the Wheel of Time, and perhaps not in MMOs but this is an ending.

The end...?

Even if you’d asked me a month ago if I could see myself quitting WoW, I’d have probably laughed and thought you were joking, but then, you would have had more foresight than me.

Is this because of Nightfall ending? I can honestly answer that with a ‘no’. Nightfall going quietly into the night (name that film!) wasn’t the catalyst, it was just the final impetus I needed to take a deep breath and make the decision.

Actually, now that I think about it, it wasn’t the final impetus. No, that would definitely have to be the content of the next expansion pack to Warcraft; Cataclysm. The changes it makes seems to have really divided people and I’ve fallen on the side of those who feel that the fun and exciting factors have been outweighed by the stupid factors.

Binary Colors puts it far better than I ever could and sums how I feel about it!

Is this because of Aion about to start? Again, a definite ‘no’. How coincidental Nightfall’s closure and Aion’s starting are, I don’t know. I’m not privy to that information and what’s more, it makes no difference to me either.

In the end, I had a fantastic time in the World of Warcraft. I met (virtually) some really nice people both in the guilds that I was a part of and in the raid communities, too. I don’t begrudge the time spent, although I’m certainly not going to look at the /played time on my characters. I suspect, whilst not as bad as some, it could make me blanche.

All that said, I’m not going to say “I’ll never be back.” I’ve seen it too many times now when people have said “Goodbye!” only to re-appear later on. As silly as I find the planned features in the expansion, I could well end up coming back to see how bad or good it actually is.

It may turn out that Aion might have a wonderful start but ends up being woeful. We’ll see. And whatever I’ll end up doing, I’ll be sure to blog about it here.

