Yes, I know, I know, it’s Sunday as I write this but that’s because my Saturday was full of movie watching.

Completely unexpected, too, so it came as a nice surprise.

It all started out innocently enough with a planned trip to the local cinema to see District Nine and boy, that was an amazing film on so many levels. I was a little apprehensive because it was full of unknowns (well, I’d not heard of them) but once it started the time just flew by. I didn’t know all that much of the story going out and whilst the story could have been set almost anywhere the fact that it was set in South Africa was very poignant and the allegory wasn’t lost on me, either. If you’ve not seen it, go do so. There could well be a sequel and if there is, I can’t wait for it.

That was followed by Will Smith’s Hancock on the satellite film channel. An enjoyable film but with a twist that you will not see coming. Oh, you think you know what’s going to happen but when the twist comes you will think “Well, I did not see THAT coming!”

Next up? Burn After Reading. All I can say is a common expression that was used almost constantly throughout the movie and one that Binary Colors likes to use to such wonderful effect. But, honestly “What the fuck?!” Great acting by all, but the story made absolutely no sense.

Just as that finished, I switched over to catch Sin City. I’d neither seen this before nor read the Frank Miller series but wow! What a stunning film! I…am actually a bit lost for words suffice to say that I was pleased to find out that there could well be a Sin City 2.

By that time it was gone 1am and I slouched off to bed to get some much needed sleep.

Talking of books (well, I wasn’t but I didn’t have a smart or witty segue) the new Dan Brown book; The Lost Symbol is released on 15th September and I’ve been mailed to say that my order is on its way so I shall hopefully have and be reading that on Tuesday.

