Out of many one would be the translation of one of the mottos of the United States of America.

What does this have to do with anything?

Well, it’s always been an ambition of mine to visit north America, specifically the States (sorry, Canada, whilst you’re wonderful, too, the US juuuust pips you) and as I realise that I’m not getting younger coupled with the fact that I’ve not been away this year for any longer than a night due to this credit crunch, recession, whatever it is I’ve decided that next year, 2010, I’m going. I am going to fulfil my only life-long ambition even if I have to re-mortgage my house!

But the problem is that I don’t know which of the 50 states to visit which is where you come in! I need help.

The visit will likely be in August and will last about 10 days. Based on that, my criteria are:

Must be sunny for sunbathing.

That said must also have stuff to do such as museums, places of interest and shops.

A reliable means of getting about aforementioned places as I don’t drive.

And that’s pretty much it! Simple, huh? Except that there are 50 states to choose from. I have considered Las Vegas but that seems to be centred around gambling. San Francisco has been suggested but am looking for more suggestions. Or you could say “Yes! You’ll love Las Vegas as it has x,y and z to do!” or “San Francisco is the perfect place for a first time visit to the U.S!”

I need help!

Please?

