Sed fugit interea fugit irreparabile tempus, singula dum capti circumvectamur amore

In other words “But meanwhile it flees: time flees irretrievably, while we wander around, prisoners of our love of detail”. I don’t think there were ever more apt words in describing the last five years. Except these words were written over 2,000 years ago by the Roman poet, Virgil. Think he knew something back then?

Alright, technically, for those of us playing on the European servers, it won’t be 5 years until next February but, eh, details.

I hear about players who are “BC babes” or “Wrath babes” and as someone who has been in Azeroth since the open beta for vanilla WoW all that time ago, that just feels downright wierd. I can’t help but think “you missed all this!”

Have no fear, this isn’t going to turn into one of those “back in my day” and “kids today don’t know they’re born” posts. It’s more a post to remind you to stop once in awhile and take stock. And screenies! As soon (TM), a lot will change and there will be no going back.

This is getting re-inforced as I level through the various zones such as the Barrens and I am thinking thoughts along the lines of “when I was a horde, this place only had one flight point” but hot on its heels comes other thoughts of “when Cataclysm hits, this will be completely changed”. I imagine that Warcraft will attract new players with the new expansion, that’s inevitable, but unlike the BC babes and Wrath babes who have seen Azeroth almost as it originally was, Cataclysm babes won’t get that opportunity.

No, they won’t have to deal with only one flight point in the entirety of the Barrens. Or only one flight point in Ashenvale. Or having to wait until 40 to get a slow mount. Or not having optimised quest circuits. Or not being able to fly in Azeroth.

You know what? Sometimes being there at the beginning is not all it’s cracked up to be!

But still, I’m glad I was there.

