Happy New Year!

Have you made any resolutions? Are you going to stick with them?

I’ll be honest and say that I’ve not made any resolutions as such but I’ve decided that I need to make some necessary changes and adjustments.

Doesn’t that sound ominous? Cue dramatic music…

No, I’m kidding. Drastic changes won’t stick which is why most resolutions are ultimately dropped. We ask too much of ourselves and so we need to start off with just small adjustments with each one having a cumulative effect.

What’s mine? Well, I live quite a sedentry lifestyle. I work in an office and I come home and basically do things that are not strenuous like reading, computer games, watching films and…yeah, you get the idea. The only exercise I currently get is when I have to run for the train.

So, too combat that I now have access to a Wii Fit. Yes, feel free to point and laugh, I can take it, but I’ve recognised that I need to do something and this is my first baby step. My reasoning is that half an hour a day in the comfort of my own home with no one around to mock or laugh at my embarrasment.

You might notice that I’ve said nothing about a diet. Well, that’s because that might come later. Baby steps. Resolutions, out. Baby steps, in.

In other news, I’ve just come from seeing Avatar and all I can say is “Wow! That is a freaking awesome film!” I enjoyed it immensely for several reasons:

– I play an MMO for crying out loud! You think that I’m not going to get excited about a film which basically brings to life what I enjoy doing?

– It has a great big tree in it. It’s set on a planet (technically, a moon) that is populated by, for all intents and purposes, Night Elves! Can you say Nordrassil?

– The message it wants to portray is subtly put across. Oh, who am I try to kid. It’s about as subtle as bull in a china shop, but that’s a good thing. The time for subtle messages is long past, I think.

– I’ve had it said to me, and I’ve read it, and now I agree with the sentiment that the film makes me feel like a heel to be a Human. But there’s nothing I can do about that except make changes. Baby step changes (see what I did there?) Yes, I get sentimental. I make no apology for that.

All that remains is for me to wish you a happy and prosperous 2010! There’s a lot to look forward to.

