Remember this? Or more specifically the bit about me cancelling my WoW subscription.

Well, here I go again!

But unlike last time, this has a feel of permanency to it because this time there isn’t a substitute in the wings. SWToR doesn’t count because it’s too far off in the future. Actually, my main desktop and I aren’t really seeing much of each other lately. Not even for single player games. I simply have no interest at the moment.

Back when I first cancelled my account for the new shiny that was Aion, I certainly didn’t realise it at the time, but it was at that point that WoW lost its grip on me. As it turned out, Aion wasn’t the MMO for me and so never got its chance to capture me either and so I happily went back to WoW and slipped back in like going back to the house that you grew up in.

If I can stay with that analogy, when you move out of your home and strike out on your own, although you might have some false starts and you have to go back, you realise that whilst you will always have memories and feelings for that place, it’s not the place for you anymore. It’s part of your past, not your future.

And so it is with WoW and I. When I went back, whilst it was familiar and safe and comforting and welcoming, I slowly came to realise that it was no longer for me. As it turned out, I came back to say goodbye. Not to the wonderful people in the game as I hope to stay in contact with them, either through this blog or via IM or another method. Rather, it was for me to say goodbye to Azeroth.

Whilst I’m a little sad, I’m not upset or bitter. Five years spent sharing adventures with a whole range of people from all over the world. Whilst that may become commonplace in the future (and might well be so even now), I still regard that as an amazing experience. And I even managed not to piss all of those people off!

So, what now? That remains to be seen, but I’ll be sure to let you know what I’m upto even if it’s just to let you know what I’m reading lately!

