So it was that a few posts ago (which is not saying a lot, I realise, given how little I post!) that I asked if anyone had read any of Richelle Mead’s works and now, I’ve just read the last cliff hanger line from the amazing Spirit Bound.

For those who are familiar with Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series, you, like me, are probably now chomping at the bit, eagerly waiting for Last Sacrifice to come out this coming December. Boy, that’s going to be a long wait.

And for those that don’t know what the hell I’m talking about, Spirit Bound is the fifth in the series that begins with, strangely enough, Vampire Academy and it concerns the lives of Rose Hathaway, the guardian (bodyguard, protector) and best friend to Lissa Dragomir, a royal vampire and the last of her family line.

I’m going to be honest and say that when I first read the title ‘Vampire Academy’, that I thought “Seriously? A school for vampires?” but I was pleasantly surprised but Richelle weaves a very unique tale about Dhampirs, Moroi and Strigoi. No, I hadn’t heard of the latter two either, but they are based upon Romanian folklore.

The series has gotten better (and the books thicker) as it’s gone along and there is definitely a sense of the characters maturing as they’ve gone about their adventures. There definitely some shocking moments in some of the books, especially the third (Richelle seems to have a habit of making the third book in her series a real humdinger – I wince at what she has planned for Iron Crowned) and at times you want to sometimes talk some sense into the characters. But then, they are young adults and wisdoms only comes with experience or age.

I won’t bother comparing this to the Twilight series as they are completely different except to say that if you did enjoy the Twilight series, and are looking for a vampire fix and an equally good read, then you’ll enjoy sinking your teeth into this series (yes, awful pun fully intended!)

In other news, it’s weigh day for me today and I found that I’d put on 2Ib since this time last week. I hope anything that that’s muscle else I think I’d cry. However, after it was pointed out to me, I did some quick calculations and found that on one of my work outs, I’m moving close to 4 tonnes. Sounds impressive, doesn’t it? For example, my Monday workout includes:

Bench press: 4*10 * 30kg and that’s 1200kg right there!

Not sure what, if anything, my point is but it impressed the hell out of me so I thought I’d share it. I’m sure you appreciate it.

Thought so!

