Hot Six (Stephanie Plum, #6)Hot Six by Janet Evanovich
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There are few books that can make me laugh out loud. Oh, a lot can make me smile, chuckle to myself and are genuinely funny but it is the rare book that can me laugh so I’m almost crying.

Hot Six is one of those rare books.

It’s the sixth in Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series but it could easily be read as a stand alone, if needs be and it follows Stephanie as she once again tries to get her man in her capacity as a Bond Enforcement Agent. Bounty hunter to you and me.

The regular cast are all present; Lula, Grandma Mazur, Stephanie’s mother, Joe Morelli and Ranger and Joyce Barnhardt. They are joined by some new characters including Bob the dog who is involved in some of the most eye-watering hysterical moments in the book.

What I’m amazed at, is that this series continues to be as funny as it was when it started and I still have a lot of books to go yet. Another thing that makes me smile is how everyone is so inter-connected in Trenton. The characters are either related to each other or went to school with each other or just grew up in the same neighbourhood.

Underneath it all, though, is a fine thriller in a true ‘whodunnit’ style and the pacing had me devouring the book eager to see what happened next.

View all my reviews

