Last Dragon Standing (Dragon Kin, #4)Last Dragon Standing by G.A. Aiken
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The fourth book in G.A. Aiken’s wonderful Dragon Kin series and in my opinion, the best yet.

Ostensibly, this is about Keita’s and Ragnar’s relationship and how it forms and indeed, that’s what the first part of the book is about. Typically, as has come to be expected, when the two meet, saying that they don’t get on would be something of an understatement.

The thing is with Keita is that she’s a very complex character, with more layers to her than Ragnar, her family and everyone else realises. As such, Last Dragon Standing’s story is quite involved with new characters being added to the already large cast. And unlike the previous books, where characters would play a brief part, all of those we have come to know end up playing major roles.

This book is one of those that builds and build and builds and as such, I just wanted it to keep going and never end because the story was so enticing (which probably explains why it took me a few days too finish it – it was getting to the point where I was purposely limiting myself to what I’d read each night, to savour the story) but, of course, all books, including this one do finish.

The only criticism that I have and it’s really quite minor, is this isn’t as hot as the previous books but when you balance that against the fact that there is so much else going on, that it doesn’t really matter. On the other hand, the humour and action that is also expected abounds in Last Dragon Standing.

Fortunately, there is another book. Unfortunately, at time of writing, it’s not out yet!

View all my reviews