Eternity Embraced
Eternity Embraced by Larissa Ione
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First off, a word of warning. Don’t do what I did and make the mistake that this is book 3.5 of the Demonica series because it’s not. Technically, it’s book 4.5. However, that said, it doesn’t spoil anything per se but does give the state of the relationship of the characters from book four. It’s only a minor niggle and my own fault.

And that said, with the exception of brief cameo’s from Tayla and Eidolon this novella doesn’t even involve the major players from the main books and so would serve as a great introduction to Larissa Ione’s style and the Demonica-verse. What I did find quite surprising was that given that it is a novella and a quick read was how much was packed into it.

Granted, there’s only a little back story to the main characters Eternity Embraced starts very much in medias res with slayer Andrea Cole searching for fellow slayer and lover who has been captured by vampires and possibly turned against his will. When she finds Kaden, will she follow her head and training or her heart and passions?

Eternity Embraced possibly gives the ending away. Or perhaps not, but I always feel that reading a book is all about the journey to and not the race to the end. And this journey contained everything that I’ve come to expect from a Larissa Ione book and what those new to the series should expect; plenty of action both in terms of fight scenes and scorching love scenes.

The only reason I’ve given this four stars and not five is because it’s too damn short! Some characters take awhile for you too warm up to (Wraith, for instance required his own book before I warmed to him) but I instantly liked both Andrea and Kaden and was rooting for them from the start and they could both have carried a novel of their own, I think.

View all my reviews

