A Hunger Like No Other
A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Let me get the negative out of the way first.

I found that the ‘hero’ of the piece; Lachlain MacRieve nothing but extremely arrogant, rude and for all intents and purposes, a rapist.

His introduction to me as the reader and the heroine; Emmaline Troy a nicer, more delicate vampire-fey cross you will never meet was by terrifying her, pouncing on her and tearing off her clothes as she tries to flee from him. He then keeps her against her will in her own hotel room, takes her credit card and uses it and doesn’t give it back (granted, the end result of that are hilarious).

The second thing I disliked, again concerning Lachlain was the author’s attempt at the Scottish accent, primarily by way of using ‘doona’ in place of ‘don’t’. This had me gritting my teeth throughout the book.

I have no objection to an author writing the accent into what’s said but they do, they had better be sure they know the dialect because when it fails, it shows and it failed here. It would have been better if Lachlain’s speech had been written in plain English with the occasional reminder that he had a strong brogue.

For the record, the correct word would have been ‘dinnae’.

You can probably tell that both of these combined had a pretty big impact. However, whilst they did, I still really enjoyed the book.

What won me over was Emma’s story and growth. As I’ve said she started out as dainty and delicate, scared of her own shadow and has had the protection of her coven for her short life of a mere seventy years.

But her trials force her to come out of her shell and make her realise that actually, she is a force to be recognised in her own right. Whilst Lachlain may start out as this huge, powerful Lykae, he eventually learns that he’s met his match in Emma. Especially when she engages in a successful vampire hunt of her own.

What I also found interesting was that some of the book ran concurrently with events told on the prequel; ‘The Warlord Wants Forever’ and so we get to see some of Myst’s and Nikolai Wroth’s story from a different point of view.

Overall, whilst I had strong misgivings at the start with thoroughly despising Lachlain which is the reason this isn’t given full marks, I ended up enjoying the story and will certainly be continuing the series.

View all my reviews

