Lover Reborn
Lover Reborn by J.R. Ward
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

If this is Tohr’s book, and I really hope it is, then whilst I know I’m not supposed to wish my life away, but…WHY ISN’T IT MARCH 2012 ALREADY?!

April 2012: I wrote that back in 2011 and now I’ve just finished it within the last half an hour or so.

Let me be clear and blunt; this did not end how I’d hoped it would. In fact, Tohrment himself asks the question that of all those bought back from the dead or prevented from dying, why not the one woman who probably deserved it the most?

That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy it. Quite the opposite, in fact. Lover Reborn is a worthy addition to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series and I enjoyed every minute of, even the agonising bits and there were some truly painful parts that were hard to get past. You’d think I’d learn by now that the pain only makes coming through it the other side that much sweeter but oh my, is the reader ever put through the wringer.

Unfortunately, the pain for the reader is not limited to Tohr’s agony but because John Matthew is his adopted son, JM and Xhex also get a large amount of page time and as newly-mateds, they discover that all is not always peaches and cream following the ceremony.

I adored how Tohr’s grief was handled throughout this book, right up until the very end where he eventually learned that moving on didn’t mean betraying his shellan. Although there were a couple of moment’s of major asshat-ery on his part towards No’One, his actions with Marrissa at Safe Place were so endearing.

No’One is no stranger to the series having been introduced and fleshed out in previous books and far from being viewed as a replacement (I so wanted to!) she was very deftly handled at just the right pace so that when the time came, I as the reader felt that this isn’t a betrayal at all but the next step in where everyone needs to be.

I only have a couple of minor niggles but they don’t detract from the high regard I have for the book. The first is the WTF-ery going on at the end in the Fade ceremony. I can understanding being set free but doing that to Tohr again? Yeah, I’d be as upset at Autumn was.

The second thing would be Layla and Xcor. Layla’s been with the series since…forever? and is easily my favourite Chosen and she’s had her share of ups and downs along the way that she deserves her own HEA. But Xcor?! He deserves nothing but what Wrath promised Tohr. So we’ll have to see where that pans out and how.

On the whole, though, it’s finally nice to see the most stable Brother of them all back in a happy place. It’s been far too long.

View all my reviews

