Taming the Fire
Taming the Fire by Sydney Croft
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There’s not much that I can say about Taming the Fire, the fourth book in the ACRo series. Not because it’s poor. Just the opposite, in fact. I loved every moment of it but rather that I’d be repeating what I’ve said about the first three books.

And I don’t want to indicate that the books are formulaic because aside from the basic principle of ‘resolutely single agent goes to recruit very reluctant person and ends meeting their soul mate’, they’re not.

Perhaps I ought to focus on what I enjoyed most about this particular book?

I was a bit wary about the BDSM aspect at first given that that’s not my thing but I need not have worried. With one exception, the BDSM scenes were just there to give a frame of mind to Ulrika ‘Rik’ and Trance both playing roles neither particularly liked. The exception? If you don’t know what ‘sounding’ is, you will! Heh heh.

Given that there are essentially two major plots both with the theme of betrayal and trust, I did enjoy how they were handled separately and resolved in different ways.

It’s also good to see previous major characters are not forgotten and are tied into the story. Given that Rik is essentially a werewolf, it makes perfect sense for Kira, the animal whisperer to play a major part in the book.

Furthermore, unresolved threads from previous books are picked up and for the most part, are neatly tied up. This involves Dev, Marlena and Oz (sort of). I can’t say anymore without spoiling what’s happened previously.

And that’s it. Short and sweet but a definite thumbs up for the book and series so far. Book five to follow soon.

View all my reviews

