Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet
Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a grim book.

Ha! I made a funny! Ahem.

By grim, I mean dark and given that Charley Davidson is the grim reaper it’s difficult to make light of the business of death even if you do appear as a glow stick to the departed or the psychically sensitive. Furthermore, given the events towards the end of the last book with Charley in hospital and then being arrested whilst still in hospital, this does not start out fluffy and light.

A couple of months have passed since Third Grave Dead Ahead and Charley is in the grip of PTSD when she is forced to start dealing with life again through her best friend; Cookie forcibly moving Charley back into her own apartment (across the hall) and a new case for Charley Davidson, P.I. to solve.

Not only that, but there’s also her on again off again relationship with Reyes Farrow, the hot son of Satan himself as well the breakdown in the relationship with her father. And in a completely unrelated matter, a gang of thieves are robbing banks.

So yeah, fun reading?

Actually, yes it was. Despite all that going on, the typical humour Darynda Jones injects into these books still abounds giving a book that had me grinning from ear to ear one minute whilst going “Oh nooo…” the next. Even more body parts get named even to the point where it got a little confusing when she was looking at Barbara. This probably doesn’t sound confusing out of context.

The coffee consumption has probably been scaled back a bit but the witty banter between Charley and everyone else abounds especially Amber, Cookie’s daughter who had a spectacular moment in this book. I was also surprised at the outcome of the latest case. I didn’t see the culprit until Charley did but I also wish that the outcome had a happier ending, although I suppose it did for Harper.

Still on the subject of happier endings, the reasons why Charley’s dad has been acting the way he has are explained. Were they justified? Not in my eyes as he could have gone about it in a different manner but it’s enough that he explained why such that they can now begin to repair their relationship.

As for Charley’s new neighbour. I think I saw that coming from a long way off so it was no surprise when all was revealed. It should make the next book even more interesting!

In summary then, sometimes dark and sad but often times funny and hot make this a solid must read addition to the Charley Davidson series.

View all my reviews

