The Darkest Fire
The Darkest Fire by Gena Showalter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Having heard the name of Gena Showalter and her Lords of the Underworld series, this has been on my TBR pile for quite awhile now. Of course, never having read anything by this author before, I was hit by the usual thoughts along the lines of “will I like it?” and “will it stand up to the calibre of my regular reads”.

Fortunately, being a short story I read it in one sitting and can happily answer ‘yes’ to both questions.

The story itself is a simple one; both Kadence, the Goddess of Oppression from Heaven and Geryon, Lucifer’s gatekeeper are duty bound to ensure that nothing escapes from Hell out into the mortal world. The two have apparently being doing this for quite awhile but in silence. Certainly from his point of view because he thinks himself so far beneath her and not just in terms of the realms they come from.

Unbeknownst to him, however, Kadence finds Geryon intriguing despite his demonic appearance and has done ever since he saved her life during an escape attempt. So, when the wall is discovered damaged she enlists him to aid her in repairing the wall and killing those responsible for causing the damage and that is when they start circling each other, getting closer and closer…

This was a very enjoyable romance with a somewhat unusual HEA and an intriguing twist at the end. Both characters were well liked and whilst there was one instance of “you go stand by the wall while I kill the bad guys”, Geryon gave sufficient reason for this and he was a gentlemen where Kadence was concerned as is right.

I don’t what, if any, impact this story has on the series as a whole but I will certainly be finding out.

View all my reviews

