Vampire Vacation
Vampire Vacation by C.J. Ellisson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ll admit that I judged the book by its cover with C.J. Ellison’s Vampire Vacation. I knew from a friend’s recommendation that it contained some hot sex but I was expect something, not necessarily fluffy, but perhaps light hearted. Honestly, a place where vampires can go on vacation that is run by a vampire. The comedy is just waiting to happen.

But that’s not what the reader gets. Instead, it’s a murder mystery of the paranormal kind with a lot of sex thrown in for good measure. There are some light elements such as when Vivian, the main protagonist and proprietor of the V V Inn, bursts into an all male BDSM session or the numerous wardrobe malfunctions that she suffers through wearing the wrong item at the wrong time

Indeed, Vampire Vacation does include all of the elements that would normally make me give a book five stars and declare it as one of my favourites but I can’t.

One of the reasons is Vivian herself. For the most part, she is a good character, likable and mostly treats her employers well but I couldn’t connect with her. This is probably because there was too much “I’m the biggest, baddest vampire here but I don’t like to show it except for when I do.”

Apart from her mate; Rafe and her werewolf blood donor; Jon the other characters were fairly flat and at times I caught myself trying to remember who certain people were, whether they were vampire or human and to which vacationing party they belonged.

The sex scenes also left something to be desired, if the expression can be forgiven. They were quite a few given that the book is set over a period of a few days and Vivian certainly didn’t lack in any way. However, the scenes were short and almost perfunctory. They were well written but they just could have done with some expansion.

But there are elements that stood out. Vivian clearly has a lot of back story that’s alluded to throughout the course of the book. There’s a good deal on the author’s take on vampire mythology such as feeding and what powers they may have and how servants and donors fit in.

Overall, a good book that I liked but felt could have been better in some respects.

View all my reviews

